Training for Ice Climbing World Cup 2013

Last year I got a taste World Cup competition climbing in Saas Fee

I am so psyched these days to be training and focused on a clear goal: to compete in Ice Climbing World Cup for 2013

I am fundraising and training on a daily basis. Other folks who are from North America and joining me are:

Kendra Stritch, Ian Matt-Holmes, Gord MacArthur and Nathan Kutcher. I am fortunate to be able to train with Malcom Kent who is hosting a training facility in Calgary.

Malcolm, me, Gord and Nate in Calgary

a better photo of Nate

a glimpse of some of our training surfaces

I feel super lucky to have great training partners and some financial support to chase my dream of becoming the best climber I can be.

So far I have the support of several people. I will make a complete announcement of all my supporters in the next month. But I am very excited to be booking my flights for Korea, Switzerland and Italy this week.

A project I am working on to thank some of my supporters are these mugs:

I painted these mugs

and the other side…

Here is a link to the world cup schedule: http://www.theuiaa.org/news_378_UIAA-Ice-Climbing-Commission-releases-provisional-calendar-of-events-for-2013

Apparently they have confirmed these dates, even tho it appears on their website as ‘provisional’

  • 12-13th of January – Cheongsong, Korea
  • 18-19th of January – Saas-Fee, Switzerland
  • 26-27th of January – Rabenstein, Italy
  • 07-09th of February – Busteni, Romania
  • 08-10th of March –  Kiro, Russia

I only plan on attending the first three.

Also, I hope to be apart of the Winter Olympics in 2014:

Update on 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia

UIAA Ice Climbing president Pavel Shabalin returned from a reconnaissance trip Sochi, Russia, home to the 2014 Winter Olympics. In 2011, the Sochi 2014 Organizing Committee and UIAA, along with the Russian Mountaineering Federation (RMF) initiated the inclusion of Ice Climbing in the games as a cultural event.

playing last year in scotland on a wet day in a dry cave

The biggest challenge so far has been believing in myself. The higher I set the bar, the louder the voices are that tell me I am CRAZY. I am working hard every day to shut those out. I am rewarded with clarity and focus.

I also do pilates almost every day to help me keep my core strong and my back flexible. I am so grateful for the strength in my back and the quick recovery from my injuries earlier this year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ice Climbing, inspiration

Leave a Reply

