Ouray 2014

I had one of my best trips to Ouray this year. Colorado is really good to me. Rifle, the Black Canyon, Estes, Vail and Ouray. I am loving it!

This year Tim McAllister joined me and we got some ice climbing in before the big comp! Here is a photo essay of our trip.

Go Tim

Tim cruising up the Rigid Designator at the Vail Amphitheatre, I renamed it the Frigid Inseminator 🙂 tee hee

2014-01-07 12.33.39

Nice temperatures and blue ice make for a fun day out at the amphitheatre.

IMG_0192

Tim on the classic mixed line called Amphibian. Super fun crack climbing.

IMG_0118

Nearing the top of The Fang

IMG_0081

After asking many locals, analyzing conditions and salivating over The fattest Fang for a couple days, we decided to climb it. It did not disappoint. There were many feet and bulges to negotiate on the bottom half, like 5.4 jugs.
Then it steepens up near the top before a chimney feature to give you a brief moment of exposure. I feel so lucky to of climbed this feature in such a fat year on a relatively warm day.

IMG_0166

Batman and Robin is an ultra classic mixed line at the amphitheatre. rock, ice, rock and then ice again! I failed to onsight this classic but sure had a fun time trying!

IMG_0196

On the early approach to Bridal Veil Falls, Beautiful Morning LIght lights up Telluride. We had an early start so I could preview the ouray comp route in the afternnoon. No maximising here 😉

IMG_0208

Timmy Cruising up the left and more difficult side of Bridal Veil Falls this year. What an aesthetic and fun route!

IMG_0229

The 1st belay.

IMG_0232

Tim following the second pitch. Literally riding a frozen wave of ice. I have never seen such clear and deep blue ice. such a high water content. so lovely.

IMG_0245

The Big Picture of one of the most classic frozen waterfalls on the planet.

IMG_0228

Frozen Ocean

ralphportrait

I am happy after realizing I have come 2nd. Thanks to all the volunteers and guides and route setters that make Ouray the great competition that it is.

L16C1712 (Large)

John Evans has capture the moment of failure. I felt disappointed with my performance for most of the day! Poor Tim. But as always! GREAT learning. I knew I would likely get flashed pumped as my warm up did not get me pumped, but I ran out of time to get a better warm up. I will definitely make sure this doesn’t happen again. and I am grateful that I didn’t pop off sooner! I am getting better at performing in competition!

IMG_0263

Will Mayo, showing us all how its done!

IMG_0288

Stephanie Maureau, who placed 1st, and I enjoying our victory!

L16C1682 (Large)

I felt strong and solid. Yippee. Thanks to Rob Pizem for the great training regime.

IMG_0291

Ouray, colorado. One of the most beautiful mountain towns around.

IMG_0289

Emily and I enjoying some time together at our favorite Colorado meeting spot :0)

IMG_0256

Rob aka Griz, generously schooling me in tool sharpening. I promply went out and bought a dremel and sharpened up my picks for the comp!

I am now in Romania, off to watch the Men’s qualifier. Grateful for some “nets” Hope everyone is enjoying a safe season. Seems like warmer than normal temperatures world wide.

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, Ice Climbing, inspiration, Multi-pitch climbing

Leave a Reply

